The North Sydney Junior District

Junior District Enquiries:

Contact: Josh Hyland
Junior District Clubs Location Map: Please see below

Phone: 02-9245-3060
Fax: (02) 9955 1543
Postal Address:
PO Box 327

About the North Sydney Junior District

The North Sydney Junior District spans a wide area from Brooklyn in the North, Middle Harbour in the East, Sydney Harbour in the South and Dural in the West.

The North Sydney Junior Rugby League oversees this area and has responsibility for the administration of all competitions which includes some of the oldest junior clubs in the country.

Key responsibilities/achievements:

  • Responsibility for a Junior District (last altered in 1947 when Manly-Warringah came into being),
  • Two new junior clubs added in the past five years,
  • The running of District Junior Development Teams in the under 13’s, under 14’s and under 15’s age groups,
  • A District Rugby League and a Junior Rugby League Administration that has operated continuously since 1908.

North Sydney District Clubs Location Map

Discover Bears Territory. Clink on the top left for more options.

North Sydney District Rugby League Clubs

Asquith Magpies

Established: 1953
Home Ground: Storey Park

Although our club history can be traced back a little further, the Asquith Magpies came into formal existence in 1953 when we first entered a team in the North Sydney District Junior Rugby League A Grade Competition. Our Club provides skilled and accredited coaching staff, and all of our trainers are League Safe accredited. All of our volunteers are asked to operate under not only the NRL Code of Conduct but our own club policy as well. All of this ensures that players develop their skills in a professional, friendly and safe environment.
Contact: Mike Mercer (President)
Phone: 0412-156-194

Berowra Wallabies 50 Years Logo

Berowra Wallabies

Established: 1967
Home Ground: Warrina St Oval

We coach our players to have fun and to improve themselves. We conduct coaching clinics under the supervision of our coaching coordinator, for all our coaches. The clinics are aimed at enabling all coaches to give our players a better shot at learning the skills and drills they need to enjoy both their training and the game on the field.
Contact: Adrian Gins (President)
Phone: 0481-060-040

Hills Hawks

Established: 1983
Home Ground: Dural Park

The Hills Hawks junior rugby league club was founded in 1983 with 153 registered players. They came fifth in the Club Championship with four teams in the semis and the U8s playing in the grand final. At that time our home ground was Glenorie Oval. The club will field U6s to U12s in the 2018 season.
Contact: Mark Antunac (President)
Phone: 0419-010-840

Ku-Ring-Gai Cubs Rugby League Logo

Ku-ring-gai Cubs

Established: 2015
Home Ground: Turramarra Memorial Park

The Ku-ring-gai Cubs are the newest addition to the ever expanding and developing North Sydney Junior Rugby League. The Ku-ring-gai Cubs, are here to cater for boys and girls aged from 5 years old. We want you to become part of the CUBS family.
Contact: Bruce Walker (President)
Phone: 0429-902-660

Lane Cove Tigers

Established: 1923 (Re-formed: 2012)
Home Ground: Tantallon Oval

Rugby league was first played in Lane Cove in 1923 and were known as the Tigers from 1956 until 1999. The club was re-formed in 2012 due to the significant interest in rugby league within the local schools. The Lane Cove Tigers are a family friendly club that provides an opportunity for boys and girls to play junior rugby league.
Contact: Matthew Girvan (President)
Phone: 0422-001-311

North Sydney Brothers

Established: 1913 (Re-formed: 1973)
Home Ground: Tunks Park

The Brothers Club as it is known today was formed in 1973. The Old Brothers Club, or more correctly, the Marist Brothers Club ceased in 1956 and was well revered in the North Sydney District. Even today it is still remembered by hundreds of ex-players, supporters and opponents alike. A great number of our players have progressed to play grade with the North Sydney Club.
Contact: Daniel Dickson
Phone: 0412-144-271

Pennant Hills-Cherrybrook Stags Rugby League 50 Years Logo

Pennant Hills/Cherrybrook Stags

Established: 1967
Home Ground: Greenway Oval

Pennant Hills Rugby League Club was formed in 1967 entering eight teams in the 1968 competition. The first premiership success was in 1969 with the U11s winning the Grand Final. The first Club Championship was won by both the Juniors and Seniors in 1982.
Contact: Gordon Boath (President)
Phone: 0407-246-789

Willoughby Roos

Established: 1913 (Re-formed: 1966)
Home Ground: Willoughby Park

Willoughby was one of the founding clubs in the junior league. Although there are no records available, the club was most successful and won eight A grade, four B grade and one C grade premiership. From the war years until 1957 the club was successful but then broke up. The Club was resurrected in 1966. A lot of players progressed to play for North Sydney with Norm Provan being one of the notables.
Contact: Phil Paterson (President)
Phone: 0419-226-782