The North Sydney Bears is an Australian rugby league football club based in North Sydney, New South Wales. The club was established in 1908, making it one of the original founding members of the New South Wales Rugby Football League, and one of Australia’s first rugby league football clubs. Formed as a foundation club of the newly arrived rugby league game in 1908 and were initially known as the Shoremen. The club was formed at the North Sydney School of Arts in Mount Street on 7 February 1908.

North Sydney is based on Sydney’s Lower North Shore and our home ground has been North Sydney Oval, affectionately known as “Bear Park” since 1910. We continue to play our home games at North Sydney Oval on most Sunday afternoons between April and August. Our club colours are iconic red and black, with some white introduced during the 1990’s.

North Sydney competed throughout the 20th century in the NSWRL, ARL and NRL premiership competitions claiming two First Grade premierships, back-to-back in 1921 & 1922.

The club currently competes in the New South Wales Cup, SG Ball Cup (U19 Females), Harold Matthews Cup (U17 Females), Tarsha Gale Cup (U19 Females) and Lisa Fiaola Cup (U17 Females). The club also runs an U16 Academy squad and Development Squads in U13s, U14s and U15s.

The North Sydney District Junior Rugby League falls within the Bears catchment consisting if 8 junior league clubs: Asquith Magpies, Berowra Wallabies, Hills Hawks, Ku-ring-gai Cubs, Lane Cove Tigers, North Sydney Brothers, Pennant Hills Cherrybrook Stags and Willoughby Roos.

The Stats:

Most first grade appearances for the club

Most Tries for the club

Most Goals for the club

Most Points for the club

  • 1,274, Jason Taylor (32 tries, 563 goals, 20 field goals) in 147 games (1994–1999)

Club Honours:

Premierships: (2) 1921, 1922

Runners-Up: (1) 1943

Minor Premierships: (2) 1921, 1922

Midweek Cup [as Amco Cup]: Runners-up: 1976

Reserve Grade Premierships: 1940, 1942, 1955, 1959, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993

Third Grade Premiership [and equivalent competitions]: 1937, 1945, 1946, 1959

President’s Cup1918, 1933

Jersey Flegg Memorial Trophy: 1998

Lennox Cup: 1949

Sevens: Runners-Up: 1996, 1997

City CupWinners: 1920, 1922 Runners-Up 1913, 1959

League CupRunners-Up: 1919

State Championship: Runners-Up: 1945

Pre-season Competition: Runners-Up: 1964, 1966, 1977

Channel 10 Challenge Cup: Winners: 1978

Intrust Super NSW Cup: Runners Up

Knock-On Effect NSW Cup Minor Premiers: 2023

Knock-On Effect NSW Cup Runners Up: 2023

Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership Minor Premiers: 2022, 2023

Team Of the Century:

Australian Internationals:

Principal Partners

Major Sponsors