Dibb selected in Jillaroos merit team

Kirra Dibb’s incredible season continues! After an impressive debut for the Blues in the Holden Women’s State of Origin, Kirra has now been selected in the Jillaroos merit team.

Jillaroos coach Brad Donald congratulated the team, saying this year’s Origin match was one of the best matches he had witnessed since commencing as Jillaroos coach in 2016.

“The skill level of our elite female athletes continues to get better and better and I was so proud of the efforts of every player competing for their respective states,” Mr Donald said.

“We’re in a building phase as we start to focus on the 2021 Rugby League World Cup and you can sense between the elite players that there is a healthy level of competition for spots.

“Those in this merit team deserve their place and recognition, as we prepare for plenty more rugby league this year, including the Premiership, a Nines Tournament and a Test Match.”

NRL General Manager of the Women’s Elite Program, Tiffany Slater said the Women’s Origin match had attracted a significant increase in fan attendance and TV audience year on year.

“More than 10,500 fans witnessed a rivalry without rival last Friday night at North Sydney Oval, with a million people tuning in,” Ms Slater said.

“It was fantastic to see men, women and children of all ages supporting the fastest growing area of our game – women’s rugby league – and particularly at the end of the match, when thousands of fans rushed onto the field to greet their heroes that had just been part of a thrilling match.

“I have no doubt that the quality and support of Women’s Origin will continue to increase and the best news is that there’s still plenty of women’s rugby league to be played this year.”

The 2019 Harvey Norman Jillaroos Merit Team is as follows:

1. Corban McGregor
2. Jess Sergis
3. Amber Pilley
4. Isabelle Kelly
5. Steph Mooka
6. Kirra Dibb
7. Maddie Studdon
8. Chelsea Lenarduzzi
9. Brittany Breayley
10. Simaima Taufa
11. Holli Wheeler
12. Annette Brander
13. Hannah Southwell
14. Ali Brigginshaw
15. Millie Boyle
16. Steph Hancock
17. Botille Vette-Welsh